We stand to denounce racism in all its forms

We, the undersigned from the cultural sector of the North East, declare that silence is not ok and silence is seen as complicity. Racism has no place in a just and humane society.

Whilst we cannot undo pain and neglect, we are calling on all of us in the arts, cultural, heritage sectors; professional and voluntary to work together to address racism and its deep roots. We must listen, have conversations and most importantly act, we know we need to do better. Everyone is part of the solution – artists, staff, trustees, partners, promoters, audiences and communities.

We want to tackle this together in sharing better understanding and practices. We stand united to bring about change in our thinking and actions as a collective of organisations and individuals.

In the weeks and months to come we will collectively act to build on this statement with concrete steps and actions to demonstrate our commitment to bringing about real change. We ask you to stand with us.

If you would like to join us in these future conversations please contact any of the points of contacts listed below:

Alphabetti Theatre
Signee: Ali Pritchard, Artistic/Executive Director
Contact: [email protected]

Ampersand Inventions
Signees: Jonpaul Kirvan FRSA / Peter Marchal, Directors
Contact: [email protected]

The Angelou Centre
Signee: Rosie Lewis, Deputy Director & VAWG Services Manager

Anna Robinson
Contact: [email protected]

ARC Stockton
Signee: Annalbel Turpin
Contact: [email protected]

Stephanie Allen, Executive Director
Contact: [email protected]

Assembly Rooms Theatre Durham
Signee: Kate Barton
Contact: [email protected]

Signee: Lic Lorent
Contact: [email protected]

Blowin’ A Hooley Theatre
Contact: [email protected]

BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art
Signee: Sarah Munro, Director
Contact: Caroline Murphy, [email protected]

Ben Dickenson
Contact: [email protected]
Executive Producer, City of Dreams / Associate Literary Producer Alphabetti

Beverley Prevatt Goldstein
Signee: Beverley Prevatt Goldstein
Contact: [email protected]

Bonnie & the Bonnettes
Signees: Hattie Eason, Cameron Sharp and Rebecca Glendenning, Co-Founders of Bonnie and The Bonnettes. 
Contact: [email protected]

Signee: Bethan Kitchen, Artistic Director
Cpontact: [email protected]

Camisado Club
Signee: Caroline Liversidge, Camisado Club
Contact: [email protected]

Centre for Life, Newcastle
Signee: Linda Conlon
Contact: Louise Richardson, [email protected]

Cobalt Studios
Contact: [email protected]

Company of Others
Signee: Nadia Iftkhar, Artistic Director & CEO
Contact: [email protected]

Coracle Productions
Signee: Matt Jamie, Artistic Director
Contact: [email protected]

The Culture Vulture
Signee: Rachel Horton
Contact: [email protected]

Curious Arts
Signee: Phil Douglas, Director
Contact: [email protected]

Curious Monkey
Signee: Amy Golding
Contact: [email protected]

Creative Seed
Contact: Sandy and Garner Harris, Founding Directors

D6 Culture in Transit
Clymene Christoforou, Director

Dance City
Signee: Phil Douglas
Contact: [email protected]

Degna Stone
Poet and editor

Lisette Auton, Co-founding Member
Contact: [email protected]

Eliot Smith Dance (ESD
Signee: Eliot Smith, Artistic Director
Contact: [email protected]

Elizabeth Kane
Contact: [email protected]

Ednie Wilson

Gateway Studio CIO
Signee: Martin Hylton, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: [email protected]

Signee: Vikas Kumar MBE, Director
Contact: [email protected]

Signee: Sean Burn
Contact: [email protected]

Gosforth Civic Theatre
Contact: [email protected]

Harambee Pasadia CIC
Signee: Hannabiell Sanders
Contact: [email protected]

Kitchen Zoo
Signee: Bob Nicholson
Contact: [email protected]

Ladies of Midnight Blue
Signee: Yilis Suriel
Point of contact: [email protected]The Letter Room
Signee: Meghan Doyle & Stan Hodgson –
Contact:  [email protected][email protected]

Little Cog

Signee: Vici Wreford-Sinnott, Artistic Director
Contact: [email protected]

Live Theatre
Signee: Jim Bernie, Chief Executive
Contact: [email protected]

Signee: Caroline Pearce
Contact: [email protected]

Melody Sproates
Contact: [email protected]

Mortal Fools
Signee: Kiz Crosbie, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: [email protected]

The NewBridge Project
Signee: Rebecca Huggan, Director
Contact: [email protected]

New Writing North
Claire Malcolm, Chief Executive
Contact: Claire Malcolm, [email protected]

Newcastles of the World
Signee: David Faulkner
Contact: [email protected]

Newcastle City Council Arts Team
Signee: Cllr Ged Bell (Cabinet Member for Culture)
Contact: Jim Mawdsley, Arts and Culture Senior Advisor, [email protected]

Newcastle Theatre Royal
Signee: Philip Bernays, Chief Executive

Newcastle University
Signee: Professor Julie Sanders, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Contact: [email protected]

North East Emerging Museum Professionals Group 
Signee: Hannah Mather
Contact: [email protected]

Northern Roots
Signee: Adam Collerton, Director
Contact: [email protected]

Northern Stage
Signee: Kate Denby, Executive Director
Contact: Mark Calvert, [email protected]

November Club
Signee: Cinzia Hardy, Artistic Director
Contact: [email protected]

Signee: Steven Walker, Creative DirectorOne For All Productions Signee: John MacMahon, Creative Director 
Contact: [email protected] 

Open Clasp
Signees: Joint Chief Executives Catrina McHugh MBE / Ellie Turner
Contacts: [email protected][email protected]

Signees: Jonpaul Kirvan FRSA, Paul Stone, Chris Yeats

Origin Moko Jumbies
Signee: Alan Vaughan
Contact: [email protected]

Prometheus Foundation CIC
Contact: Dot Owston

Ruth Johnson
Contact: [email protected]

Sage Gateshead
Signee: Abigail Pogson, Director
Contact: Wendy Smith, [email protected]

Signee: Padma Rao

Seven Stories
Signee: John Coburn
Contact: Amanda Beckham, [email protected]

Skimstone Arts
Signee: Claire Webster-Saaramets, Director
Contact: [email protected]

Signees: Max Lee and Matt Antoniak, Co-directors

Summer Streets Festival
Signee: Ross Millard
Contact: [email protected]

Streetwise Young People’s Project
Signee: Mandy Coppin (Taylor)

Sunderland Culture
Signee: Graeme Thompson
Contact: [email protected]

Sunderland Music Hub
Signee: Lizzie Nixon
Contact: [email protected]

Susan Ashley
AHRC Researcher
Contact: [email protected]

Dr. Tina Gharavi
Creative Director, Bridge+Tunnel
Senior Lecturer in English: Digital Media/Film, Newcastle University

Tees Valley Arts
Signee: James Beighton, Executive Director
Contact: [email protected]

Theatre Hullabaloo
Signees: Miranda Thain, Chief Executive & Artistic Producer
Contact: [email protected]Theatre Sans FrontieresSignee: Sarah Kemp
Contact: [email protected] Thinking/Practice
Signee: Mark RobinsonContact: [email protected]

Tyneside Cinema
Signee: Holli Keeble, Chief Executive Officer
Contact: [email protected]

Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums
Signee: Iain Watson, Director
Contact: Bill Griffiths, [email protected]

Tyne and Wear Cultural Freelancers
Signee: Leila d’Aronville
Contact: [email protected]

Unfolding Theatre
Signees: Michael Barrass, Alex Elliott, Garry Lydon, Annie Rigby and Luca Rutherford
Contact: [email protected]

Signee: Nikolas Barrera
Contact: [email protected]

Voices of Virtue Gospel Choir
Signees: Mathapelo Imarhiagbe, Chinyere Igun, Glen Smiley

Waka Waka Africa North East
Signee: David Fualkner
Contact: [email protected]

We Make Culture CIC
Signee: Laura Brewis, Project Director
Contact: [email protected]

Yvette Ja Hawkins
Visual Artist
Contact: [email protected]